College Republicans United at
Arizona State University

Club elections are held at the end of the Fall Semester every year. All students at Arizona State University are eligible to be General Members—i.e, voting members and run for the Executive Board. Membership is granted once two of the following has been achieved in the previous and current semester: 

  • Payment of Dues,
  • Minimum of 6 hours performing Volunteer Activities for CRU,
  • Attended four meetings

All positions of the Executive Board shall serve only one year per term from the date they are elected. There shall be no term limits.

Club Email:

ASU Adviser – William Tolley
Grad Research Assistant Biodesign BSS Graduate Student, Computer Science, Ira A Fulton Engineering


President – Avery Nelson
Applied Science
Ira A Fulton Engineering


Tempe Vice President – Marvin Abernathy
The College of Lib Arts & Sci,
Political Science


Secretary – Matthew Northway
The College of Lib Arts & Sci,
Political Science

Previous Executive Leadership

Faculty Advisor Charles Loftus
School of Criminology & Criminal Justice

2018 – 2020

CRU was founded by members of the ASU College Republicans who had left the club in digust due to corruption within leadership. This action was endorsed by CR Faculty Advisor Donald Critchlow who named our group College Republicans United to serve as a mirror conservative version of the CRs. Charles Loftus became the permanent advisor shortly after inception in 2018. 

Richard Thomas

Joshua Bernard
Matthew Northway
Julie Houtman

Julie Houtman

Jesse Fischer